Hard work is a blessing

Last weekend we finally got to work on the yard. It had been sitting idle with half finished projects, plants that needed to be moved, weeds that needed pulling and/or spraying, storage buildings that needed some rearranging… the usual. We got the itch to work outside and I have to say, I’m very pleased with it. We got some new patio chairs and after cleaning off the porch and putting some things in storage, it now looks tidy and clean.

It came a big summer rain yesterday afternoon as we were finishing, but we didn’t let that deter us. We just kept on working. The 4 yr old ran in the rain and rode his bicycle as I finished tying up the runners from the blackberries. I had to roll up some hoses and take some limbs to the compost pile before I was done. I was soaked. The end result is amazing but after a long weekend of work, I’m tired! ha!

I say all this to also share how incredibly blessed and in awe of Jesus I am. As I was walking back to the house to get dried off and cleaned up, with the rain still coming down, I felt the presence of the Holy Spirit whisper in my ear, “Isn’t this beautiful?” Oh how blessed I am to be able to spend the day working in the yard with my family. I feel like when I work hard my spirit is renewed because I have focus on what I am doing and get to expend the energy that I’ve built up from sitting on the couch. *For those of you that work hard every day, I know you probably don’t feel “renewed” when you get home at the end of the day. But I’m in a season of life (two small children), where I don’t get the opportunity to do any manual labor (unless you count endless loads of laundry as manual labor). I’m in a season where half to most of my day includes changing diapers, nursing the baby, getting more juice, kissing boo boos, folding laundry, and generally stuck inside the house.

It’s just nice though to work on something like your patio and your plants and get to see the finished product. It’s a great feeling to sit down at the end of hard work day and feel pleased and satisfied at what you’ve done. It makes me think of how God felt pleased at the end of the 6th day of creation. I bet he was so satisfied with what he had created that he decided that feeling had to be shared and so he instilled it in us.

Do you think hard work is a blessing? Share in the comments below:

 

Leave a Reply

